ACCA Syllabus and Papers

The ACCA syllabus is composed of 14 papers, divided into four levels:

Knowledge - 3 papers

Skills – 6 papers

Essentials – 3 papers

Options – 2 papers from 4


The starting point of achieving your ACCA qualification is the Knowledge module which includes papers F1 to F3. When you’ve passed these, you can go on to the ACCA Skills module.

F1           AB          Accountant in Business

F2           MA         Management Accounting

F3           FA           Financial Accounting


This comprised of modules F4 to F9. It examines your understanding of the technical subjects such as taxation, law, financial reporting, auditing and financial management, and performance management. The knowledge and skills you’ll gain from this equates to a Bachelor’s degree.

F4           CL           Corporate and Business Law

F5           PM         Performance Management

F6           TX           Taxation

F7           FR           Financial Reporting

F8           AA          Audit & Assurance

F9           FM         Financial Management



The Essentials module provides you with specialized skills and techniques of an expert accountant. Each of the 3 ACCA papers is assessed with a 3-hour paper-based exam.


P1           GR&E    Governance, Risk and Ethics

P2           CR           Corporate Reporting (UK or International)

P3           BA          Business Analysis



You can choose any 2 out of the 4 options. This allows you to customize your program based on your interest and career goals. Each paper will have to be assessed with paper-based exams.

P4           AFM      Advanced Financial Management

P5           APM      Advanced Performance Management

P6           ATX        Advanced Taxation

P7           AAA       Advanced Audit & Assurance (UK or International)


Exam Regulations

All modules must be sat in order

Maximum of four papers to be taken in one sitting

Papers within a module may be sat in any order but ACCA recommends that they should be sat in numerical order

Papers from a variety of levels may be sat at any one time. i.e. Knowledge and Skills or Skills and Essentials

The three Essentials ACCA papers do not have to be sat together

Students are given 10 years to pass all the examinations. From early 2016 students will have 7 years to pass the exams at Professional level (P1, P2 and P3 and two of the options paper P4-P7). The 7 year time limit starts when a student passes their first Professional level exam.

The pass mark for all examinations is 50%

In addition to the 14 papers, students are required to study and sit an on-line module in Professional ethics. It is recommended that this is studied at the same time as P1.

Practical experience is required

Simply pay us a visit, call us at the following numbers:

Toll free number 8000 3570 3172 (within UAE)

Phone: +44 (0) 141 582 2000 (outside UAE)

Fax: +44 (0) 141 582 2222

Main campus

Open on location Google Map